The Scottish Omerta Revisited

A couple of years back I wrote a jokey article about the Scottish Omerta, namely watching Weir’s Way. I finished it with a plea for someone to stick some episodes on youtube.

For those of you who don’t know it, Weir’s Way was  a program featuring nothing more than an amiable old man rambling about the Scottish countryside and speaking to folk whilst putting in a bit of geography, geology and history. To get a better feel for it, read the article I linked to in the first line of this.

Anyway, the good news is that someone has responded to the call and put a fair few episodes online. They are on this channel here (if you are looking around youtube then you could also take a peek at my channel too, which has nothing like Weir’s Way on it).

I’ve included an episode below here.

What other program could start with a line…

“Well, Kenmore is the liveliest village on the coast, population 20, and I am just in time to get out and see the fish being fed in the farm.”

He even mentions the word communism without foaming at the mouth or apologising.

In this one I also love the line “You are the only member of the cooperative”.